The annual Danube Rectors’ Conference took place in Politehnica University of Bucharest

The annual Danube Rectors’ Conference took place in Politehnica University of Bucharest


On November 6 – 8, Datso Taras Omelianovych, Coordinator for Scientific Events and Projects in Romania of the Center for Ukrainian and European Scientific Cooperation, together with the delegation of Uzhhorod National University headed by Rector Volodymyr Smolanko joined the annual Danube Rectors’ Conference, which brought about the topical tasks of universities as the centres of regional development. The topic of the conference entitled “Consolidating the role of universities in innovation eco-systems: challenges and future developments”.

Politehnica University of Bucharest welcomed Danube Rectors. Heads of the leading HEIs of Austria, Germany, Italy, Slovenia, Croatia, Bulgaria, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Romania, Moldova, Hungary, Slovakia and Ukraine mark that cooperation in the area of education, science and research, in particular, the exchange of innovative ideas in universities play an important role in the region development.

Danube region has the high innovation potential that is evident due to the joint implementation of different EU projects, among which there is Horizon 2020, Life +, Interreg, Erasmus+.

The conference participants were greeted by Corina Crețu, member of the European Parliament, former European Commissioner for Regional Policy and Marilena Kiot, Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Romania.

Under the conference framework, it was granted the award “Danubius”, which was created in 2011 by the Austrian Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research and the Institute for the Danube Region and Central Europe to honor the scientists who had significant achievements in research related to the Danube Region.

This year, it has been rewarded 14 young scientists from the countries, which are participants of the EU Strategy for the Danube Region – Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Romania and Ukraine.